East Asia Planning History Prize

Call for nominations — IPHS EAPH Prize 2012

Starting in 2010 at the Istanbul Conference of IPHS, a prize has been offered in the planning history of East Asia. It is awarded to the best article in a refereed English-language academic journal published in the previous two calendar years before an IPHS Conference.

The aim of this prize is to encourage young scholars of East Asia (under 40 years old) to engage in planning history and to publish their work in English. It is also meant to expand IPHS membership in East Asia. The winner shall be a member of IPHS at the time of awarding the prize and should attend the São Paulo conference in order to receive the prize and to present his/her work. There is a cash prize of 250 GBP.

To qualify for entry, work submitted for consideration should be concerned with the planning history of East Asia: the countries and regions of China, Hong Kong, Japan, the two Koreas, Taiwan and their neighbouring areas, including their subregions and cities.

Applications are invited from scholars for publications that appeared between January 2010 and December 2011. A complete application will consist of the Application Form (including a 400 word statement and a short CV of the author) and a copy of the publication. The period for receipt of submissions is only from November 1 to December 31, 2011. Authors will submit their applications electronically to the five EAPH Prize Committee members listed below.

The Official Announcement and Application Form with the email addresses of the Committee members are available from: http://www.planninghistory.org/prizes.html. The Committee members are:

  • Professor Shun-ichi J. Watanabe, Tokyo University of Science, Japan (Chair of the Prize committee)
  • Professor Fukuo Akimoto, University of Kyushu, Japan (Vice-Chair)
  • Professor Carola Hein, Bryn Mawr College, USA
  • Professor Andre Sorenson, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Professor Anthony G.O. Yeh, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong.

For a copy of the Application Form please click on the provided weblink.

Further information about the Prize may be obtained from Professor Shun-ichi J. Watanabe


IPHS 2012 Book Prizes

The International Planning History Society (IPHS) endeavours to foster the study of planning history worldwide. It seeks to advance scholarship in the fields of urbanism, history, planning and the environment, focusing particularly on cities from the late nineteenth century.

Call for nominations — IPHS 2012 Book Prizes

At the 2012 IPHS conference in Sao Paulo (Brazil) two prizes will be awarded again: The two most innovative books in planning history written in English and based on original new research. Books must have been published in the previous two calendar years (2010–2011). Books may be written individually or joint-authored. Anthologies and edited works are also welcome, but reprints and "readers" are ineligible.

The prize for each award is $ 250,-. The prizes will be awarded at the 15th IPHS conference in Sao Paulo in July 2012. Winners will be informed in January 2012 to facilitate participation at the conference. Nominations are invited from scholars and publishers.

Nominations will comprise a 400 word statement, a short CV of the author(s), and 5 copies of the nominated book. (These materials will not be returned). The deadline for receipt of submissions for the next prize is 31 November 2011.

Nomination materials should be sent (if possible earlier) to: Prof. Dr. Dirk Schubert, HafenCity University, 22085 Hamburg, Winterhuder Weg 31, Germany.

Further information about the prize can be obtained from Dirk Schubert (Tel. +49-40-428274513, E-mail: dirk.schubert@hcu-hamburg.de).

Members of the book prize committee are: Helen Meller (University of Nottingham, England), Nihal Perera (Ball State University Muncie, USA), José Luis Sáinz Guerra (Universidad De Valladolid, Spain)

Please check also the website: http://www.planninghistory.org/